© 2023 by EK. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

Maria Ornata: Our World Premiere at Edinburgh Fringe

A hole has been ripped through the fabric of reality. Heaven and Earth have collided, leaving both mortals and deities lost in chaos. The only one who knows what has happened is the Archangel Gabriel, and now it's up to him to tell the tale of how it all came to pass.

Using lyrical language and embodying many characters, Gabriel reenacts how the Celestial Beings of Heaven start to feel their powers weaken as their influence on Earth plummets. For the first time, they worry about fading into oblivion. Matters are made worse by Dei, an ambitious mortal engineer who meddles with nature by inventing a mechanical sun. The deities who sit on the Celestial Council demand that the Virgin Mary, Queen of the Heavens, intimidate Dei and win back human devotion. Mary must walk a razor's edge between self-preservation and respect of humankind's free will as the fate of the Heavens hangs in the balance. 

Synopsis

Our first production ran at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival 2017. The play is about what happens to the deities in Heaven when their legitimacy is threatened by a mortal scientist. Originally written as a multi-character play based off of a seventeenth century Dutch story, Dieter Brusselaers starred in the adapted solo piece, creating a unique storytelling experience that responds to today's climate of chaos and confusion. 

Poster by Romberg Designs Plus

  • Grey Facebook Icon

Follow Us @MariaOrnata

Dates and Times

Fri 4 August 

Sat 5 August

Sun 6 August

Tue 8 August

Wed 9 August

Thu 10 August

Fri 11 August

Sat 12 August

Mon 14 August

Tues 15 August

Wed 16 August

Thu 17 August

Fri 18 August

Sat 19 August

Mon 21 August

Tue 22 August

Wed 23 August

Thu 24 August

Fri 25 August

Sat 26 August

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@10:10AM

@10:10AM

@10:10AM

@10:10AM

@10:10AM

@10:10AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

@11:20AM

Photos by Alex Romberg

Catch the Recording of Our Livestream!

We teamed up with the Lonetree Project to Livestream our show on 12 August. 

Contact Us to get a link to the show!

In the Rehearsal Room

Photos by Alex Romberg

This site was designed with the
.com
website builder. Create your website today.
Start Now